Posted by: sClarke | 05/23/2009

My blog birth.

(from left to right) My roommate, Kathryn, me, and my other roommate, Danielle.

(from left to right) My roommate, Kathryn, me, and my other roommate, Danielle.

Hello blogging world.  I must say this is my very first blog and it’s a little intimidating because it’s new.  Regardless, I love trying new things, so why not try blogging?

I’ll start by introducing myself, my name is Shannon.  I’m 22 years old and am working toward an MS in Integrated Marketing Communications (IMC).  I created this blog for a class, IMC 619: Emerging Media.  Here I will be discussing how emerging media are used to market products, services, or ideas.  I also will be addressing how emerging media are being used to enhance IMC in the world and in my life.  This class is my last core course in the program and I only need to complete four electives and my capstone course in order to get my degree.  If all goes according to plan, I will be done in December.

080914_SteelersBrowns_h.h2

I was born and raised in Pittsburgh (GO STEELERS) and I love my hometown.  Currently, I am in Morgantown at West Virginia University, where I have spent most of the past five years.  I completed my undergrad here at WVU as well in May 2008 with a BA in Communication Studies and a minor in Advertising.  I live in an apartment with two of my good friends and my beagle puppy, Piper.

Piper, half beagle, half monster.

Piper, half beagle, half monster.

Right now I work for the Health Sciences Department of WVU as a Graduate Research Assistant.  I’m only required to work 20 hours each week and in return my tuition is paid and I also receive a stipend.  It’s not a bad deal at all, can’t complain about free school, and I’m learning a lot of medical terminology that I’ve never been exposed to before.  Right now I’m in the process of recruiting patients from a cardiology clinic to participate in a diet study.  Some parts of the job are interesting but it’s also equally boring as well.

I was a little apprehensive about creating this blog but not after this first post, I’m a little excited because it’s a new outlet for me and it will help me examine aspects of emerging media that fit into my life as well as the rest of the world.

Thanks for reading,

Shannon

Leave a Reply

Categories

